David Walker, MD Named Fulbright Scholar

October 06, 2010

David M. Walker, MD, Assistant Professor of Pediatric Emergency Medicine at the Yale University School of Medicine and Clinical Instructor at the Yale School of Nursing, has been awarded a 2010-2011 Fulbright grant, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. Walker will be based at the pediatric emergency service of the Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital in Blantyre, Malawi, the main teaching hospital of the University of Malawi College of Medicine. In Malawi, he will care for patients in the emergency ward, serve as a visiting lecturer in the Department of Pediatrics and collaborate on research to improve the quality and safety of care delivered to acutely ill and injured children.

Walker, a New Jersey native, graduated from Yale University in 1996 and attended the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Columbia University, graduating in 2002. He completed residency training in pediatrics at the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York and a fellowship in pediatric emergency medicine at the Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC. Walker has been on the faculty at Yale, and an attending physician in the pediatric emergency department of the Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital, since 2008. He is also a Clinical Instructor at the Yale School of Nursing.

At Yale, Walker serves as Director of Mentorship and Curriculum and faculty mentor for the global health track of the Yale pediatrics residency. He also serves as the Director for Quality & Safety for the pediatric emergency department. In addition, Dr. Walker oversees electives and observerships in the pediatric emergency department for pediatric nurse practitioner students. He is a faculty fellow of Branford College, a freshman and sophomore academic adviser and a member of the Yale Alumni Chorus.

Walker has been involved in educational and research projects in pediatric emergency medicine in the Philippines, Qatar and India, and has participated in medical disaster relief efforts in Haiti. He has been an invited speaker on the topic of pediatric emergency care at national and international conferences. He is site director for a multinational pediatric emergency medicine research collaborative and is a co-author of a chapter on pediatric emergency medicine in the developing world for the upcoming 19th edition of Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. He is also one of the first recipients of the Yale Global Health Initiative Faculty Travel Award.

Walker is vice-chair of the International Emergency Medicine Interest Group of the Society of Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM). He is a member of the Education Committee of the Section of International Emergency Medicine and a member of the Section of Pediatric Emergency Medicine of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). He is also a fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and a member of its Section on International Child Health.

Walker is one of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange program, is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has provided approximately 286,500 people – 108,160 Americans who have studied, taught or researched abroad and 178,340 students, scholars and teachers from other countries who have engaged in similar activities in the United States – with the opportunity to observe each others' political, economic, educational and cultural institutions, to exchange ideas and to embark on joint ventures of importance to the general welfare of the world's inhabitants. The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. Among the thousands of prominent Fulbright alumni are: Muhammad Yunus, Managing Director and Founder, Grameen Bank, and recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2006; Javier Solana, Foreign Policy Chief, European Union; Ruth Simmons, President, Brown University; Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board, Intel Corporation; Shamshad Akhtar, the first woman to hold the position of Governor, State Bank of Pakistan; Alejandro Jara, Deputy Director-General, World Trade Organization; Raoul Cantero, Justice, Florida Supreme Court; Renee Fleming, soprano; Gish Jen, Writer; Daniel Libeskind, Architect; Aneesh Raman, CNN Middle East Correspondent; and Sibusiso Sibisi, President and CEO, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research in South Africa.

Fulbright recipients are among over 40,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. For more than sixty years, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has supported programs that seek to promote mutual understanding and respect between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.

For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, please visit our website at http://fulbright.state.gov or contact James A. Lawrence, Office of Academic Exchange Programs, telephone 202-453-8531, or e-mail fulbright@state.gov.